Benefits of Medallion Status for Delta SkyMiles Frequent Flyers

Sell Starwoods Points

Delta SkyMiles Medallion Status

One of the best airline miles and flyer programs currently available is the Delta SkyMiles. By using a Delta SkyMiles program, the members are allowed to earn and sell delta SkyMiles via different means. Enrolling in a free basic SkyMiles membership program will provide the customers a means to earn about five miles for each of the dollar spent on any Delta, Delta Connection, or Delta Shuttle airline. However, there are many other ways that a member could earn miles.

One such way is by using any of the partner airlines of Delta such as KLM, Air France, Virgin Atlantic, and Aeromexico. Besides, the medallion status is another way that members can use to earn flyer miles. Customers having Delta SkyMiles credit card can earn about two miles for each dollar spent on Delta flights. The medallions program is one way to get elite status and comfort during flights.

Members enrolled in Medallion program are provided the option to exchange their SkyMiles to Starpoints. Currently, the Delta Air Lines provides about four tiers in its elite membership scheme known as the Medallion status. A separate category known as the Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) is used to attain the Medallion status and not using frequent flyers. A traveler can earn MQMs depending on the distance flown, class, and the annual Delta SkyMiles spending or Medallion Qualification Dollars (MQDs).

Diamond Medallion Status

The Diamond Medallion status is eligible for frequent flyers who have earned about 125,000 MQMs and spent $15,000 MQDs or more. The benefits are much larger in this program and include boarding and seating propriety, free checked bags, quick security checkups, free cabin upgrades, access to the lounge, waived standby, direct ticketing fees, two welcome gifts based on their choice, and a complimentary membership in the Delta Sky Club. Diamond Medallion members can also earn about eleven miles for each dollar spent.

Platinum Medallion Status

Frequent flyers can receive the Platinum Medallion status after they earn about 75,000 MQMs and by spending about $9000 MQDs or more. The advantages for the members include free checked bags, boarding and seating priority, fast security checkups, access to lunge, direct ticketing fees, waived standby, and a welcome gift depending on their choice. The members can earn about nine dollars for each of the dollars they spent on Delta flights.

Gold Medallion Status

Frequent flyers can earn the Gold Medallion status by earning about 50,000 MQMs alongside spending $6000 MQDs or more. The many benefits received by Gold Medallion members include free checked bags, priority in boarding and spending, access to the lounge, free upgrades to the cabin, and quick security checks. Members of the Gold Medallion status can earn about eight miles for each of the dollars spent on their Delta flights.

Silver Medallion Status

The Silver Medallion status is the basic of them all and eligible for frequent flyers that have earned about 25,000 MQMs alongside spending $3000 MQDs or more. The advantages for the members include free checked bags, boarding and seating priority, and free cabin upgrades. Members can earn about seven miles for each dollar used on Delta flights.

Customer Testimonials